921b3c723dd193130a30a8e875f5713d1658763037 original

The Story Of The 21-Gun Salute: 15th President of the country Draupadi Murmu (Droupadi Murmu) took the oath and was also given a 21-gun salute. Along with this, the curiosity to know this tradition of 21-gun salute has also started arising in the mind that why only 21-gun salute to honor Republic Day, Independence Day or any foreign head of state. it occurs ? Where does the story behind this tradition begin? Why is it considered so respectable? We will try to know the answers to some such questions here.

This salute is the measure of stature in the society

You must have also heard the echo of the 21-gun salute given to the new President Draupadi Murmu. Not only this, every year when the President hoists the national flag on 26 January. Then you will hear the unmistakable sounds of artillery firing in the background as you hear the national anthem being played. The sound of these guns is to cover the entire 52-second duration of the national anthem with seven guns fired in three rounds at an interval of 2.25 seconds. The 21 gun salute, as it is called, has been a consistent feature of all our Republic Days and is a day of patriotic fervor, parades and celebrations. Once upon a time these guns were the center of all eyes in Delhi. So much so that Indian Maharajas hired people to listen carefully to these sounds and to count the exact number of bullets fired from their barrels. After all, it was a measure of his public stature and was therefore an issue to be taken very seriously.

The story of the salute of guns is more than 150 years old

The story of the 21-gun salute is not a nascent. This story is quite old, which starts more than 150 years ago. Then this salute was a way of displaying the grandeur and awe of colonial power. Delhi under the British has witnessed three occasions of bold display of colonial power and grandeur. These were the so-called ‘royal courts’ or conferences. These were held in 1877, 1903 and 1911. Viceroy Lord Lytton organized the first Durbars in Delhi in 1877, which is now known as ‘Coronation Park’. This court was held on January 1, 1877. In this, all the Indian Maharajas and Princes were gathered to declare Queen Victoria as the Empress of India by reading a proclamation. Similar courts were held on two other occasions. The second such court was the coronation of a new emperor in England. The court of the year 1911 was especially important due to the presence of King George V and Queen Mary. 50,000 British and Indian soldiers were paraded in his honor. It is said about this court that it was spread for more than 5 km.

The courts were organized primarily with the intention of ensuring the loyalty of the Indian princes. As India’s Secretary of State Robert Gascoigne wrote to the then British Prime Minister Benjamin Disraeli in 1867, “The Maharaja was the only one on whom we can hope to leave any useful impression”. Along with this, these courts also became a bustling arena, where the Maharaja continued to perform maneuvers to come to an excellent position or position in the British government imperial rule. In order to strengthen their position in this royal hierarchy, the King-Maharaja of India used to resort to the salute of guns. Under this, the East India Company decided that only among Indian princes who were entitled to a salute of 11 or more guns could be addressed as “His Highness”.

Salami standards were not fixed till the year 1877

Till the year 1877, there were no standards for how many gun salutes were to be given. Although the Viceroy enjoyed a 31-gun salute, a front bound by the East India Company, the rulers of some princely states decided to salute high within their home turf. For example, the Maharaja of Gwalior used to salute more guns than the Viceroy while in Gwalior. During the same year’s court, a new order was issued by the Viceroy on the advice of the British Government in London, under which the gun salute was fixed for 101 for the British Monarch and 31 for the Viceroy of India. Was. All Indian rulers were arranged. They were given a hierarchy of 21, 19, 17, 15, 11 and 9 gun salutes based on the relationship of Indian kings with the British Raj.

Salute of the year 1911 which was made of spectacle

The court of the year 1911 proved to be a spectacle not only for the eyes but also for the ears. With over a hundred Indian rulers participating during that time, there was gunfire for almost the entire day. Only three princely states were given the highest honor of 21 gun salute. These included Maharaja Gaekwad of Baroda state, Maharaja of Mysore, Nizam of Hyderabad. The name of Maharaja Scindia of Gwalior was added to this list in the year 1917 and the name of Maharaja of Jammu and Kashmir in the year 1921. These cannon salutes became such an influential and defining indicator of one’s status that the princely states whose rulers were given salutes were given the title of ‘Salute States’. At the time of independence, in our country in 565 There were about 118 salami states. The system of salami states continued till 1971, when the Privy Purses were not abolished. Privy purse refers to royal allowance, which is a special amount received by the autonomous ruler of the state and the royal family in a constitutional or democratic monarchy. The grant of royalty in India was started in 1950 after the establishment of the Democratic Republic.

When the international standard of 21-gun salute was made

On 26 January 1950, Dr Rajendra Prasad was sworn in as the first President of India. After this, he rode from Rashtrapati Bhavan to Irwin Amphitheater which is now known as Major Dhyanchand Stadium, from there in a gold-plated horse carriage, which was then given to the President of the country. Came to take the salute of the guns. It was only after this that the 21-gun salute finally became the international norm. After 1971, the 21-gun salute became the highest honor bestowed on our President and visiting Heads of State. Apart from giving salute whenever a new President takes oath, it is also given on selected occasions like Republic Day. In this way now guns and artillery do not run for our rulers and maharajas, but for us, for us people.

There are only eight guns in a salute of 21 goals.

Now the salute is given, there are 21 rounds in it, but the guns are only 8. Out of this, 7 guns are used for salami, from which each cannon fires 3 shells. This salute is considered the best honor of the country. The headquarters of the squad of about 122 soldiers who gave this 21 salute is in Meerut. It is worth noting that this is not a permanent regiment of the army. Now let’s talk about the shells left for the salute that this special ceremonial cartridge is and is empty. It emits only smoke and sound, no harm is done.

read this also:

Republic Day: 21-gun salute given at Rajpath, know when this salute is given

Droupadi Murmu Oath: Draupadi Murmu will take oath as the 15th President today, ceremony in the Central Hall of Parliament House, a 21-gun salute will be given

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Increase Alexa Rank Buy Website Traffic